Looking for tax/legal advice on LLC for SFRs? MD & FL

5 Replies

**Looking for advice/guidance before going to my CPA/Attorney and I know that’s not you.**

I own two SFRs in my name. One is in MD and the other in FL where I'm a resident. I want to establish a LLC for asset protection and tax reasons.

The structure would be to have the LLC lease my properties from me and then sublease to tenants (to avoid due on sale clause and not pay transfer taxes). Once paid off I'll deed them over.

Can I just form the LLC in FL and run all rents, expenses, etc through it without having to register it as a foreign entity in MD or file a MD state income tax statement?

I appreciate any guidance or experience in doing this. I want to do things correctly and would prefer to legally avoid MD’s high taxes when I don’t live there. 

No real tax advantage, all expenses and income get combined on personal taxes anyway.  As for legal protection, You are still the owner so I’m seeing any real protection.....I can’t imagine a non arms length lease and even an  “indemnification” from the llc to you would ever stand up.

I don't think things work the way you imagine with the structure you describe, both in terms of asset protection, taxes, DOS and transfer taxes.

The LLC structure is unlikely to give you any tax advantage - consult with a CPA before putting something crazy in place.

For asset protection, you should have one entity (or more) just holding assets, separate from another entity doing the property management (public facing) - watch podcast 109 and talk with @Scott Smith .

Here is a diagram to help you a bit in this question:

@Jon Dorsey Glad you know I'm not your attorney, but I can certainly help with giving you some questions. The information @Costin I. provided above is accurate.