Anyone who can help set up Self Directed IRA (SDIRA)?

10 Replies

I am a newbie investor with 403B of 90K with present employer and 20K from a former employer and would like to invest in real estate using SDRIA. I need help setting this up and have a few questions along with it:

1. Do I need a CPA to set up SDRIA?

2. Can I use funds from my 403B with my current employer?

3. I am hearing about Self Directed 401K with checkbook control, how does this compare to SDRIA?

Thanks in advance!

@Roushel Asuncion

You don’t need a cpa to setup a SDIRA. 

probably very hard to move $$$ from your current employer 403B but ask if you can move any of it to an Ira. Don’t confuse them by mentioning self directed-just say Ira.  The old $20k account should be easy to move

You do not need a CPA to set up a SDIRA, we do these all the time,  though I would recommend you advise with a CPA regarding the restrictions & tax implications of 403B though you should be able to rollover the 403b into the 401k with no issue.

A Solo 401k is only available for self-employed individuals who have no other employees other than their spouse. If you are not self-employed or starting a new business you need to consider the SDIRA.

You can contribute up for 52k a year in a Solo 401k, as well as, much greater flexibility into what you are able to invest in - real estate, precious metals, those are viable investment options which are not offered by traditional plans - hence why this is so valuable for REI's. An example, instead of using a LLC, if a Solo 401(k) uses a non-recourse business loan to purchase real estate the owner will not have to pay that 40% UBTI tax on any income generated by that property. There is also no UDFI tax if you leverage to buy real estate with a Solo 401k - but there can be (it depends) with a SDIRA.