Replace primary residence HVAC now? Or once I have tenants

32 Replies

Newbie here.

My HVAC needs to be replaced in my primary residence condominium. It’s still working but it needs to be replaced in the near future because it’s old.

I plan on moving out in six months and renting it out. Will be my first rental.

From a tax (and any other factors) perspective should I go ahead and replace it now or wait until I convert the property to a rental? From what I understand this would be a capital improvement which can be depreciated over 27.5 years but not sure how helpful that is and if it will help my spouse and I (both W2) on our personal taxes.

How old is it? I have had HVAC units last 20 years. I personally would not replace it till it starts having problems or fails.

@Nabeel Qureshi I agree that you should wait until it fails, unless you have a trusted AC company telling you differently.  If you are convinced about replacement, I would do it before you get a renter in the place, otherwise wait use use it until it is no longer economically repairable.

Thanks @Mike Wood and @John Underwood

It’s 41 years old apparently. When I bought the condo (no intention at that time to rent it out) the building manager told me it’s original and home inspector wasn’t sure  of age but said it might be. 

I had three HVAC companies come by and tell me it needs to be replaced as the building engineer said that too. 

41 years old! I kinda doubt that. I'd take a look at the label and then google how to interpret the numbers.

I'd love to know what you find out.

Still if it ain't broke ...

Put back some money so your ready when it does go.