No money, but I can make it if i work out of town and miss my family life?

30 Replies

I'm trying to get my first flip going but family and friends that have money are unsure about going in with me. I don't blame them because it would be tough for me to give someone tens of thousands of dollars too. Now here's my real issue, I have the option to work out of town for about 6 months and come home with enough money to get it going. I like my current job and I get to see my family everyday, If I left for the money I couldn't see them. Most people would probably get the money and get started on there dream job. I am an Iraqi Freedom Veteran and when I was deployed my daughter was just born, after I came back she was walking. I made a promise that I would never leave her again, regardless if it was for money for the family. Sorry for the sob story but just wanted to lay it all out so you get my mind set. Any suggestions?

@Clint Coneley Have you looked at a crowd funding site? There a couple of posts on this site regarding them. Have you attended a REIA meeting to find a partner to go in with you? Have you considered doing a few wholesale deals to get some money to get started with doing flips. I do not know how the market is in your area of TX, but from what I read, it is is pretty good and you should be able to find a few good wholesale deals if you can scare up $2-5K to do a few yellow letter campaigns or other advertising.

While 6 months is not as long as  most military deployments, it is still time away from your family.  Is your wife on board with the idea of you working away from home?   Are you going to be working on a oil rig in the gulf?  Is there any risks to the job?  I suspect since you are an inspector, you will not be a regular roughneck but still will be working 12's and making lots of money with all of the overtime.   If there is internet on the oil rig, or oil field man camp, you could do face time or skype to contact your family.