Using Mint.com for budgeting

17 Replies

On one of the webinars mint.com was suggested to help with budgeting. Do many people use this and if so, how do you like it compared to other budgeting options?

I am an accountant and I personally use mint for myself and my fiances finances. I love it, its online, pulls data electronically and categorizes most of your purchases for you. Obviously you have to do some adjusting here and there but otherwise it is great. You can set up a budget and goals and track your progress against them. It is made by Intuit so it is created by a reputable company which is why I have no issue putting my personal information in the site. I highly suggest that you give it a try especially if you are having a hard time knowing where your money is going. It can be a great tool to help get your finances under control!

mint is good for personal stuff. nothing else.

I stopped using Mint a while ago, but since they bought the app that I was using (Check), I've decided to give it another shot. I use an app called Toshl to track my daily expenses though to keep my cash and debit transactions handy. It takes some work, but I just use it once/day in the evening and plug everything in. 

I would say this comes down to what you are trying to do...if your goal is simply to track your spending and set budgeting goals then this will work perfectly.

On a scale of 1 to 10, I'd give MINT about a 9.2. Pretty easy to use. Fairly intuitive. Lots of pretty charts.

My wife and I have used it consistently for about five years and we definitely get benefit from it.

At several points throughout the month, I go in and categorize every line-itemed transaction. This is good for giving a visual on where your personal money is going and allows you to sort of relive the spending moment and ask yourself "is that really where I want my money going?"