What to do with my 401K?

85 Replies

My situation is that I'm 45 years old and I have a 401K with my current employer. They match 100% up to 3% then 50% up to 5%. 

So I contribute 5% and get 4%, immediately vested. 

I've been contributing this for about 13 years. I've got a balance of about $135K and I still contribute my 5% each week. I'm putting in about $4K/year getting another $3100 from the company. Nothing groundbreaking and that leads me to my situation. 

I'm now about to get into REI and trying to figure out the best plans for this $. I don't intend to leave this employer real soon but I do plan to be able to leave the job in 3-5 years.
I know I'm being optimistic that I can go from zero REI experience to financial freedom in 3-5 years, but I'm not saying I'll be sitting on a beach in that timeline, I know I'll be working, just want to be working on my own wealth and business/investments rather than someone elses. 

Other than the Hardship options I can't access any of it as long as I work for this employer. I know if I were to buy a new property to actually live in that would allow me to access some with a 10% penalty for the down payment but moving is not in the short term plans due to family. 

My immediate question is should I continue to contribute or put that $ towards my reserves where I'll actually have access to it when I need it? Or have it to put towards a Marketing budget? 
I know can't roll it into a solo or IRA or anything while I'm employed there.