Section 8.. good idea or bad?

16 Replies

Hello everyone,

I am new to the world of real estate (let alone real estate investing). I've heard a lot of great things about section 8 (how its a steady, guaranteed cash flow), but also some things that are not so great.

I wanted to reach out to you all and get your thoughts on if this is something I should pursue. Please keep in mind that I am a brand new investor (doesn't get any greener). I am currently in Richmond, VA and would really appreciate your guidance.

Thank you,

HZ

You're going to get a wide variety of answers. Some people like S8 because, as you said, they view it as "guaranteed" cash flow. However, many don't like S8 because:

- the quality is often (but not always) worse (will leave your unit trashed, play music loud, damage stuff, etc.)

- S8 won't always agree to pay what you're asking for rent and/or won't agree to what you want to raise rent to in the future

- it can be harder to get a S8 tenant out (I don't think you can just give them notice to vacate like you can with a normal tenant, or so I've heard)

- you have to deal with the bureaucracy and inspections of your unit (they make you fix minor things like a window screen, and I think they can withhold rent because of it)

- etc.

I'm not an expert on S8 by any means, but I've heard enough about it to have formed my own opinion.

I do hope others from New Jersey chime in as I am curious if I can use sec 8 as a hedge against a Rental Bubble. I keep my places in great condition and I understand you can scrutinize your sec 8 through the same as a reg Non sec 8 tenant. I have inherited BAD "regular" tenants at least I know what I might be getting and can prepare for it. Slum lord I am not nor never will be. In fact I might look at it as a good thing for me and the tenant....

@Haider Zaman if you use the search bar at the top right there are TONS of discussions on this. Read those and decide if it's for you.