converting personal home to rental property?

9 Replies

I will have my personal property payed off in about 3 months. I plan on Purchasing a new home to live in and use my payed off home to rent out. how should go about the transition from home to rental? im a total newbie!  where do I start? how would you pro landlords do it?

Well, are you going to self-manage or have a property management company do it for you? If you do it yourself, you'll be doing the listing, marketing, screening, and collections as well as all repairs, etc. If you have them do it, they will do all of the above in exchange for a percentage of the gross rent. I would use rentrange or rentometer to get an idea of what FMV would be for rent and then make my decision from there based on how much money I wanted to make off of it.

There's more work to doing it yourself, but more money in your pocket at the end of the month.  

wow that was quick!  I plan on self managing and it should fetch 850.00 a month.

if you have a chance definitely check out my blog since we self manage our previous personal properties . We also buy pure investments but our key strategy  is self management. I have a step by step guide aimed at people who are turning their personals too rentals.

There really is very little you need to do in "transition". The biggest difference is you are going to claim the house as a rental on your taxes. 

Thank you! I will definitely check it out

Don't forget to check with your tax advisor as to the tax implications of the conversion. Depending on the capital gains, you may want to stay within the timeframe for considering it a personal residence.

That's exactly the "implication" I meant, the sale of it later. Conversion will definitely have tax implications .