Purchasing a House all Cash Then Refinancing

63 Replies

I would like some expertise on this current issue I'm facing.

I have this house 155,000 purchase price.  I want to do all cash and refinance.

I am going to get an appraisal done Monday, the seller is very confident the appraisal will come out to 200k or above.

Lets say it comes out to 200K, as soon as i close the house i want to refinance the home.

The bank that im using is saying they will give me back 75% of the appraised value.

So say i put 155,000K cash in.

Appraised value 200,000.

Bank gives back 75% of money= 150,000 back.

So in essence i get this house for 5,000 down cash.  

How can i lose here?  What am i missing?  I feel like this is a deal to good to be true.

I have 1 investment home, this will be my second, so im pretty new to this.

Also the appraisal for the house will be the same appraiser the bank will be using when i refinance.

This property is in NJ, i will be holding this property its a 2 family home.

@Neil P.  It could be a great deal, but never assume you can't lose.  Your appraisal and the bank's upon refi may be different.   My experience is that bank appraisals in refi come in about 8% lower than what I think is realistic.  This is in contrast to bank appraisals upon purchase or on short sales. These often come in high.

Even if the bank appraisal is $200k you will have closing costs on the purchase and refi that we put your all-in price higher. Maybe $11k. 

But all in all it sounds appealing at first glance. What do you plan on doing with the property?

@Neil P.  What you just described is our main entrance and exit strategy.  It works only if you get enough cash flow after the refinance though...how much is enough is up to you.  One of the huge benefits of doing this is the ability to reinvest the cash again after you refinance it out.