House Hacking in Charleston, SC

8 Replies

Looking for a little help for my son who lives outside Charleston, SC. He recently purchased a 4/3 to live in with his girlfriend and her kids. They are now breaking up and he asked me about renting it out.

I am a licensed Realtor in Florida performing Property Management services, but know zilch about SC rental law. I'm thinking it would be best for him to house-hack as he could rent three rooms for $400+/month while keeping the master bedroom and being present to keep an eye on the property.

• Is this legal in his area?
  • What are the downsides of house-hacking in this area?

I would also appreciate any suggestions as well as legal forms from anyone that has done this in SC.

Just a couple of ideas...

My nephew has had good luck renting rooms and small apartments out with Airbnb. Must go into it with eyes open though to make it works and not to get taken by some rogue person. Opportunity to meet fascinating travelers! Is the location appealing to tourists?

Years ago I successfully rented out rooms in a house I lived in near the University Washington in Seattle. I rented to medical school student doctors who came to Seattle for 3 month externship assignments. Is the location close to a hospital or university?

Marcia, Airbnb is a great idea, but my son is an airman and pretty much just sleeps there, so I don't think it would work in his case. I believe it would be easiest for him to have other Air Force personnel rent each room.

I suggested that he keylock each room (especially his own), but I'm really looking for a good "house-hacked" room lease that would help protect him and make things more "official."