Tenants rights, No written lease

5 Replies

Hello Bigger Pockets!! This is my first post and I am new to Real Estate investing!!  I'm looking to get started in buy and hold multi-family rentals.   

I live in Kentucky and a duplex just came onto the market in my area that I'm interested in. In the remarks it states, "Property for sale with subject to tenants rights.  Tenants do not have a written lease. Currently rented for $250.00 each side."

The property obviously needs a make over and the rent is far too low for me.  If I were to purchase it I would want to go in an renovate it and raise the appreciation and the rent.

What are my rights as a landlord in this situation? 

Depending on the laws in Kentucky and the local municipality, you could give the tenants a 60 day notice (could be as little as 30, check the local laws) to vacate the property.  Then you can rehab it and rent the units back out at market rates.

Some leases do not have an ending date, but require only that rent be paid weekly or monthly. These leases, used for "periodic tenancies," are automatically renewed every time the rent is collected. Either the landlord or tenant may end such rental agreements by giving the other written notice. In the case of a week-to-week tenancy, only seven days' notice is necessary, while at least thirty days is required under a month-to-month contract.

The "holdover tenancy" is one in which the lease has expired but the landlord allows the tenant to remain on the premises for an unspecified period of time. In this "holdover tenancy," no date of termination is set, and the holdover tenant is obligated to make rent payments as required under the original lease. The tenancy may be ended without notice if the rent becomes ten days overdue; if either the landlord or the tenant ends the tenancy for any other reason, ten days' written notice is required.