Tenant not paying

15 Replies

Can I turn the electricity off my garage apt where tenant is staying without payi g?  I posted the five day vacate letter and she has no intention of leaving. I would rather not have to pay the money to file the eviction which is this Thursday oe the electricity she and her now roommate are using. It is 95 degrees here so she couldn't stay long.

This is my first time to deal with tennant like this and it's pretty hard to see her going in and out of apt. She just laughs at me cause she is a professional at this it seems. 

I don't think I'm cut out to be a landlord.:-)

Janet

In California, I would not disconnect their electricity if you rented it with it.  It would violate their ability to peaceful use of the property. I would just go through the eviction process, and get them out. I would be willing to pay them to leave also in a cash for keys scenario. 

@Janet Taylor You need to check with Shreveport or Caddo Parrish and find out what the eviction rules are and follow them to the letter.  You could probably be in a lot of trouble and lose financially if you resort to angry response, especially if this tenant is a "professional tenant". It will only cost you the actual cost of eviction if you have to go there.  Not what they will do to you if you violate the law concerning landlord/tenant issues.  Best of luck to You. 

@Janet Taylor do not turn off the electricity. If you do chances are you will be the defendant in a court action, even though the tenant isn't doing what she is supposed to. Landlords are always held to a higher accountability.