Bough a house now will receive military orders....

6 Replies

Im new here :)

My husband is actuve duty. We bought a house a few months ago with the idea of renting out later. There is a possibility of PCS which I would love to and maybe buy another house in another state (a year after we settle)  but we believe is way too soon. I'm scared of not finding a tenant when is time to move. Im NEW to all of this and I need some opinions from expert. Is it too soon (1-2 years apart) to buy another property? Is 1 year too soon to rent the house that we just bought?

Welcome to BP.  There was a podcast with a lady who is doing exactly what you are talking about doing, her husband was in the military as well.  I'm thinking it was podcast 103 with Elizabeth Colegrove.  Listen to the podcast and then look her up, I'd bet she'd be able to help you out.

Yup @Elizabeth Colegrove - is doing exactly what you are talking about. Her solution buy in the right area!  Buy newer builds! And have a comprehensive lease.

@Troy Fisher Thanks for the mention!

My husband is active duty Navy. We buy a house at every duty station possible along with pure rentals. We currently have 7 houses with plans for another 2 in the works! For us being military has allowed us to achieve this by age 27 and 29 with unique opportunities of buying personals wherever we are stationed. 

I talk all about self managing from a distance, being military, buying the next house etc on my site at reluctantlandlord.net. You should also join the military landlord Facebook page. There are over 2,000 members all who are landlords. doe who want to be investors and others who are truly reluctant!! PM me if I can help at all.  I look forward to seeing you around!!

THANKS!!!

Do you have the link for that facebook page?