need help!!!

11 Replies

hi everyone! we need your help to choose the business entity that is appropriate to our goals in REI.
my partner and i are focusing on multifamily home rentals with sec8. we are trying to build passive income and maybe do flips on the side in illinois where we reside. do you think we should incorporate our business name with LLC or S-corp?

I'm not a lawyer, but my lawyer recommended a series LLC for us. We are designating one "cell" as an S Corp if we flip homes. The others we will use for our rentals.

Consult an attorney and a CPA to determine what is best for your specific needs.  If you have a lot of assets to shelter, then having some kind of entity may be worthwhile.  I always do find it funny though the people who have zero assets and that are worried about asset protection.

How you chose to finance the properties will also come into play. Residential mortgages do not allow for a company to own the property, must be in individual names.

Generally most use LLC's for buy and hold, as there is less paperwork required each year than an S-Corp.

@Mike Wood makes some good points. You will definitely want to consider financing. Residential loans are much cheaper and can be easier to obtain. If you are concerned more about liability than a tax shelter, consider a large umbrella policy on your homeowner's insurance. 

If you are looking to lessen your tax accountability my research indicates that a S-Corp offers more tax advantages than a LLC.

Originally posted by @Michael Maicad :

hi everyone! we need your help to choose the business entity that is appropriate to our goals in REI.
my partner and i are focusing on multifamily home rentals with sec8. we are trying to build passive income and maybe do flips on the side in illinois where we reside. do you think we should incorporate our business name with LLC or S-corp?

NEVER EVER hold real estate long term in an S-corp or C-corp.