Owner rights regarding Emotional Support Animal

17 Replies

Hi, I'm new to renting. And I've already had a problem.

I have a prospective tenant who has an ESA dog. I was wanting an additional deposit since there was an animal involved, I made it clear it wasn't a "pet" deposit but he is still claiming I can't charge more for the deposit since I had told him it was because of the dog I was going to require more. He did provide me with some literature from the fair housing act.

This is a single family residence located in Idaho. I am wanting thoughts and feedback for any future renters I have this situation with. And how best to proceed with this renter. We were about to sign the lease when he brought me the literature listing his rights ect.

I am no expert but as far as I know charging someone more for a service animal would be like charing someone more because they're handicapped. I would REALLY not recommend it. Anyone can feel free to correct me if I am wrong. Basically those animals are very protected they can go anywhere a person can go no questions asked. If you even ask someone what the service animal is for as far as I know you're breaking the law. Tread lightly. 

The animal poses a higher risk to your property, you should be able to charge a percentage more to cover that risk. But being no expert, the goto answer is ask your attorney. I would just decline this tenant, his attitude is one of somebody who will cause you trouble in the future. 

I don;t think you can charge more because of the service animal. Be very cautious with actions that could be used against you as discrimination. What proof does the applicant provide that the dog is an ESA?

Hi Kyle,