Votes
Georgia Acres
  • Moscow, OH
Votes |
Possible tenant

Georgia Acres
  • Moscow, OH
Posted Oct 30 2016, 04:41
My newest possible ternate is a family that has lived in the wife's parents house for 6yrs. She says her parents moved to a retirement village so she moved into her childhood home and paid her parents rent to help them have extra income. 1. How do I check her history of paying on time? 2. Her husband has been on his job for 5yrs, he's a general manager of Longhorn Steakhouse but, she has changed jobs 3 times in the last 2 yrs.... 3. Her job is a property manager.... For some reason that intimidates me alittle. I'm new to renting and don't want to be the newbie on my own property! Any red flags here?

User Stats

Votes
Michelle B.
  • Investor
  • Lebanon, OH
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Lebanon, OH
Replied Oct 30 2016, 05:18

Why are they now moving out of their parents house? Where did they live before that? What did they say their credit score looks like?

Essentially, there is likely no way you will ever get a real answer from mommy and daddy....for all you know they were living there for free.

On my very first rental (~10 years ago) I took a chance on a family that was living with their parents, had horrible credit and were self-employed. They stayed with us for about 7 years (were a PITA more often than not in terms of collecting rent) and ultimately left after my last 3 day eviction notice. They were screaming I AM A BAD RENTER from the beginning....they were a mistake - my mistake - and ultimately taught me the hard way what to do and not do going forward.

Good luck!
Michelle

User Stats

Votes
Nathan Reed
  • Investor
  • Ambridge, PA
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Ambridge, PA
Replied Oct 30 2016, 05:51

1) Personally, since there's not going to be any good tenant references, I would just do a credit check on her and her husband and use that to gauge how seriously they take their financial obligations.