Mold in A/C duct? - Need some opinions

8 Replies

I will preface this post by saying that I am an Engineer with some experience on environmental matters.

Black / dirty air vents and ducts in my condo rental spotted by a prospective tenant expecting a baby.  I am not looking to cut corners or poor boy this problem.  I would not put any tenant in a potentially unsafe situation.

I am trying to get an understanding of how this is handled once it is confirmed that I have mold (if I do).  I expect there is a duty to fix and / or duty to notify but I don't know for certain.

This is a modest 1 / 1 condo with the A/C unit directly over the bathroom.  I expect part of my problem is the proximity to where people potentially take hot steamer showers.

Appreciate any feedback or war stories on this issue.

Thank you.

Are you sure it's mold? Or may it just be years of dust buildup?

I've had ducts cleaned before from an old oil burner that was spewing smoke for a while (pre-flip). It was a pretty easy project for a duct cleaning company and the house smelled better afterwards.

I don't know though if it is mold if it has to be handled differently. I know the company I dealt with advertised dealing with mold in the ducts, but didn't find out details.

At the metal air register is the coldest point from the unit mixing with hot/warm air causing condensation.  Continual condensation will cause mold, we run into this in our units.  I haven't been able to resolve our issues here either, but we on occasion once a tenant leaves is to pull off the register, scrape the texture, spray a 10-1 ratio bleach and water on the affected area, let dry and get a can of spray texture and then touch-up paint. 

Usually it is not a big area to do and takes roughly an hour total time.  If there is a solution besides moving the AC unit out of the bathroom, I am all ears.