How to split bills with a girlfriend if you own 100% equity

Landlord Forums & Rental Property Questions 75 Replies

I need some advice from any and all who have an opinion on the matter. Even better if you've been through the same situation. Im considering moving to Texas from Washington and purchasing my first duplex and house hacking. I graduate college in near future and I'm a veteran, so I plan to use my VA loan to finance the purchase. I have a long-time girlfriend that I wish to move with and live with. I'm perfectly happy with my relationship but I'm absolutely NOT considering marriage at this time, or anytime within the next 5 years. I want this property to be 100% my own. How would you suggest fairly splitting the bills with a partner who is also technically a roommate? We both make about the same salary annually. 50/50 everything? Should I let her pay some variation of HOA, property tax, mortgage, insurance, utilities? What's fair and reasonable, if my goal is retaining 100% equity and ownership of this first property?

If you 2 can agree,, I would have her sign a month to month roommate lease agreement.

This would permit you to take expenses on the unit as 50% of that unit would be rental and tax deductions would be helpful..  You could charge her whatever you want but any rent you would also claim as income.. I would factor in all the expenses you listed on the property and would think 35 to 40 % of that cost would be fair as her portion. 

Keep all utilities, cable, HOA, in your name only and title of property.

Either you put a ring on this girls finger.. or she'll end up ringing your neck down the road..

There is no fair way of splitting expenses,, your gaining equity on property,,, and have tax write off's she won't.. so keep that in mind.

Personally, I think these peoples advice above is terrible. You seriously expect your girlfriend to sign a lease!?