Minneapolis, St. Paul, MN Utilities

14 Replies

Hello everyone,

I looked at a 2700 sq. ft. property today and I need some advice on utilities. I'm trying to break down expenses to get an idea of cash flow every month. Currently the building is vacant. It has 8 units 4-1bd, 2-2bd, 2-3bd all 1 bath. The heat is natural gas with the old style hydronic radiators. I can't remember if the water heater is natural gas or electric. I'm new at investment properties and was trying to take in as much as I could on the extensive remodel. Currently there is only 1 meter for the whole building. I'm looking at general utility costs for this size building in our area. Also, is there any way to seperate the meters? If so the common areas would be 3 flights of stairs and a laundry room in the below ground basement area. 

Any help is appreciative

What year was it built?  In all likelihood, there is no way to separate out the heat.  Laundry room would have to be on the landlord's meters no mater what based on Minnesota co mingling statutes.

I think you mis typed it's impossible that the sq footage is 2700 when you list the units and how many bedrooms.  Taking out for minimal common stairs-that would put each unit at 300 sq ft.  I'm guessing it's double or triple that sq footage.

Hi Victor, First off, are you sure that it is 2700 sq ft? That sounds awfully small for an 8-plex. Another question I have is whether each unit has its own boiler. If it does then you could separate out each unit and put the cost on the tenants. If all the units are heated from one boiler the strategy wouldn't work. Hope that helps! Dan

This post has been removed.

I'm not positive as I haven't taken measurements. Walking through it today it seemed bigger than that. Unfortunately no there is only one boiler.