Is my property manager cheating me?

18 Replies

Hello , I'm new to the real estate game and would appreciate any help from everyone.  I moved to a new house in May and decided to rent my old house.  I lived there for 2 years and have no major issues.  The house was built in 2008, so it is fairly new.  I've had my first tenants since July, and I've had more months with major repair bills than those without.  

Abridged list:

- Before moving i removed my Nest thermostat, and hired them to install a different one.  The AC was off for a month.  The thermostat was installed, however this caused a leak in the ceiling.  I'm not sure if this was from a build up of condensation.  The repairs and paint cost $500.

- There were multiple repeat visits to repair the AC unit, including rewiring.  At this point, the total costs for AC issues is over $1000.

- Last month, on my invoice listed a broken window that was replaced in the foyer due to temperature changes in the winter months.  This was another $500.

Is there a way I can validate these are legitimate repairs?  I drive by monthly, but there is only so much I can see from the outside.  Is contacting the tenants for information an abnormal approach?

Thank you,

David

You need to set an amount that the PM can use for repairs before you have to approve. I self manage but mine would be $100. Anything over that would require my approval. If your just starting out, I'd suggest you take over the management and start making money.

I would. Maybe Set up an appointment to check out the new window....quality of install etc. then either talk to the tenants while you make the appt. or while at the property.