Inherited Tenant Bounced Rent Check

13 Replies

Hi All,

This past September my wife and I purchased our first investment property with the help of BP. This is my first time posting and regrettably I have only been a lurker until now. The property we purchased is a duplex which we are occupying one side of. Prior to purchase the previous owner created a lease which terminates on 30 April 2018 so the current tenant could stay through the sale of the property. 

The tenant has paid on time (this month included) since October. I learned this morning that their check which was deposited on the 8th of this month (rent is due on the 5th) bounced for NSF. 

Can some experienced landlords/house-hackers give me your input as to how to handle this situation? I am in upstate New York so our laws allow for a 3 day Pay or Quit notice. Do I serve this today with a text/phone call or do I try a softer approach? Thanks in advance!!

@Mathew Cubell First I would have a conversation with the tenant and let them know you understand things happen but you need a certifids check (or cash if your ok with it) for the rent ASAP. See if your lease has a bounced fee charge and late fee and apply those as your lease allows. I might eve waive some of this for a first time offender. 

Start off nice and give them the opportunity to fix this.

Have you every bounced a check how would you like to be treated if this happened to you? Start there and then escalate if you don't get the results you need.

Personally, I would give 3 day notice with a follow up call/email letting them know that their check bounced. I would make sure to tell them that you understand mistakes happen, but the 3 day notice is a paperwork issue that you are obligated to post.

you can be nice, but still show you are operating as a business

Talk to them about giving you a money order or bank check for the funds quickly, say within 48hrs.