Rehab with tennent in place

11 Replies

I am brand new to investing and i am still confused on the whole BRRRR strategy as far as the rehab aspect. Say I were to buy a duplex, triplex etc but there are tennents that are currently living in the units. How do i go about rehabbing those units? Obviously i don't want to kick the current tennents out while rehabbing but what other option is there? Also one more question, what are the best things to remodel to help increase value so I can refi and pull that money back out? I'm talking besides large projects such as kitchen and bathrooms. Thank you

@Sean Harris Wait for the leases to run out and don't renew. Not 100% sure what you're looking for with the second question but I'll take a stab at it. Anything that makes the place look nicer, open, and up to date. If its a weird floor plan, consult a GC or engineer on what walls can come down, floors, landscaping, exterior paint, and then little things like light fixtures, cabinet hardware, and misc. small items can make a difference. Really it's just about bringing the property up to par with other properties in the same market, you don't want to go overboard, but also don't want to under-do it.

First if you have tenants in place that pay and they are happy , collect rent , dont rehab . Do what repairs are necessary . When one moves out attack the unit and get it done . You may then find that an existing tenant may want to move in it . Then you start the process over again .   You cant rehab with someone living in the unit .