Property Management - Starting Questions

10 Replies

All, I am not sure if this is the right forum for this and apologize if it is not. I am a new Real Estate agent and am researching many different areas of the profession so I can determine where my characteristics/traits can be best utilized to become successful. I have read a book or two on Property Management and watched some YouTube Videos. I am solely looking for a push in the right direction on somewhere you feel I can go to get really good and thorough information on how to properly become a property manager. 

Thank you in advance for your help.

Hi Jonathan.  Your best training will be absolutely be hands-on.  I suggest you get a P/T job (or F/T if you can handle both) at a property management firm so you can see all that being a PM entails.  Find a local manager in your area and offer to take them out for a coffee or lunch in exchange for a Q&A session on the pros & cons.  Books are great, but should only be coupled with real world experience before you start your own company or start managing other people's investments.  

Unfortunately, there are a lot of people who call themselves property managers but actually have no clue as to how to properly manage real estate because they've never done it before.  It really hurts our industry when they "fake it til they make it".  I'm sure you've seen a lot of investors on this site and others who bash us regularly because of their personal experience with bad managers (or people who claim to be managers) and I totally understand it.  Those of us who really take pride in our work have to constantly fight against the perception that we are all lazy and incompetent.  All that said, be sure you get as much knowledge and experience as possible before you venture out on your own.  Best of luck to you!