"No Comment" to my landlord screening questions

19 Replies

This is my first time screening a tenant. I got the responses below to the my questions. Is this typical responses to screening questions? I'm just curious and do you have any suggestions? The property management didn't comment to most of of my screening question,

Did the tenant consistently pay rent on time? Cannot Comment due management policy

Did the tenant maintain the rental property well? Were there any major damages or maintenance issues? Cannot Comment due management policy

Did the tenant have any pets? Cannot Comment due management policy

Were there any complaints from neighbor or other tenants? Cannot Comment due management policy

Why did the tenant leave? Cannot Comment due management policy

Would you rent to this tenant again? Why/why not? Cannot Comment due management policy

ro

Ever called a last employer of a candidate in the corporate world? Same types of responses. In the litigious world we live in there are only problems that occur from oversharing. I do find it surprising that they didn’t respond about rent payments being on time.

@Rommel Pascual I have never run into that.

You could lookup who the actual owner of the previous property is in the public records and ask them. I bet they know the answers.

Also a good background check will tell you most of what you need to know. It will list any evictions, criminal, and credit to see how well they pay their bills.

If you meet with a prospective tenant in person try and get a look inside their car. If it is dirty and full of trash then this is likely how they also treat a rental property.

Did you call or did you send a questionnaire that was accompanied by a signed authorization from the prospective tenant to disclose info?  If they are totally uncooperative, which because of possible litigation is understandable, search of l/t court for your location will show if there was action(s) against them.