Becoming a general contractor

13 Replies

So I was the typical middle class kid funneled into college to get a white collar office job. 

How does one career change to be a GC? I mean there's a test you can take, but I've read that covers the business fundamentals and not the actual work.

I've never really tried being "handy" so I think I'll start taking classes at home depot and take it from there?
What skillset is required?

I too was funneled. Talk to your local community college. They often have a general vocational skills program that's a great place to start.

@Alex Silang I am wondering this too. Only difference is I’ve been doing construction for 15 years, built several 2k sq ft structures, and several houses for myself and family, and it’s still a daunting idea. 

I can tell you if you stay in college your. Best bet  is to get a job doing construction.

If you do do GC YOU WILL NEED CONTACTS for all the sub trades, as well as a knowledge of most of them. 

Find construction people in your circles and talk to them over lunch. Then ask them if they know a GC You can take to lunch and ask them will be your best option