Pros and cons of month to month lease vs. long term lease

11 Replies

I've been reading through past discussions on this but would love some advice from seasoned property managers on my particular situation. I have one single family rental with a long term tenant and it's worked out great. My new property is a triplex (or will be when we get done building out the two garage units). The front cottage is going to be long term and my plan is to do short term rentals out of the garage units. I'm obviously going to make the long term tenant aware of the situation but was thinking that a month to month rental agreement might be best in case they decide they don't like the whole Airbnb thing going on behind them. I'm new to STR's but I get that reviews are huge and want to make sure my long term tenant feels free to leave if needed vs harassing guests. I'll add I'm in Colorado and our market is very hot right now so I'm not concerned about getting stuck with an empty unit in the middle of winter. I read one poster on here said that the power shifts from the owner to the tenant when you go to month to month, but I don't really get that. As landlords we would have a much more difficult time with an eviction than simply giving notice to a tenant in a month to month agreement that we aren't going to renew, correct? Would love to hear what some of your thoughts are on the best way for me to go in this situation!

Robin, when we had rentals in CA the tenants were always on leases. Then we moved to WA and leases just are not the norm here. We sometimes have tenants ask for a lease; but we do not offer them. I think MTM gives the LL more power; but the market sets the rules for who has the power. I like the flexibility that MTM gives both parties; but it does not seem to have any effect on term. We have tenants in our apartment building who have been there for eons and are on MTM. I think in your situation you are making the right decision going with MTM.