My Tenant chopped down my tree and removed my bushes!

43 Replies

I am taking over management of my property beginning July 13 - reading "The Book on Managing Rental Properties now. Current property management company has no response to my alarm upon seeing that new tenants have chopped down a (small) tree, removed established bushes in front of the porch, and removed landscaping plants in one area of the yard. Current lease only says they are responsible for lawn maintenance. What should I do? What recourse do I have?

Thanks. I'm a total beginner.

As always my advice to new landlords is to find a landlord/tenant attorney and have a discussion about relevant laws.

I would address this with a "cure or quit" notice.  That is, a notice to tenants to either fix the problem (i.e., replace the trees and other landscaping) or get out.

But, have you had a discussion with them?  Tenants can be hard on landscaping.  You don't say where you are.  Around here, water bills can be several hundred a month in the summer to maintain lawns and landscaping.  Most tenants aren't going to foot such a bill.  So, either you pay for water or the landscaping it going to die.  Maybe there was a problem with these bushes and the tree and they dealt with it.  For that matter, perhaps the PM gave them permission.

Agree to contact tenants. And contact management company to verify they did not ok this. Then kindly explain that landscaping will have to be replaced. And then evict and take them to court for the cost.

Thank you, Jon & Anthony. I have googled Cure or Quit Notice and have drafted one telling them to replace plants they removed with ones approved by me. I've given them 4 months to do it since nothing can be established right now in the TX summer. These tenants are only 6 weeks into their year's lease. I hope this was just over-enthusiastic perceived responsibility for lawn maintenance (??).