Allowing renters to rent without signing lease -- good idea?

6 Replies

I am new to the Houston, TX area and have been looking at some private rooms to rent/sublease and some landlords/subleasors don't require signed leases from tenants (just for them to pay month-to-month). I assume this is a tenancy-at-will agreement and that is completely legal.

My questions:

1. What are the downsides to tenancy-at-will agreements?

2. What are the upsides to tenancy-at-will agreements?

3. Do tenants on tenancy-at-will agreements have the same exact rights as tenants who sign leases?

4. Do tenancy-at-will agreements allow tenants more flexibility in what they do in the building? 

I am actually planning on renting a private room in Houston and am not sure if renting on a tenancy-at-will agreement is better for me than having to sign an actual lease. Will a tenancy-at-will give me more freedom and less restrictions with the same tenant rights as if a signed a written lease? Also, do I just write the landlord/subleasor a check with the property address and month on the check as payment? I just don't want to be giving up any rights as a tenant by renting on a tenancy-as

@Samantha Diego If something were to happen how would you prove that you are living there without a lease?

They could kick you out next month as you don't have a guaranteed place to live.

They could take your money then say you were trespassing.

They could double the rent as you have no written rent amount.

Maybe they don't actually have the right to lease the room so they don't want to have any paperwork.

See where I am going with these questions?