Tenant always pays late, but not late enough....

93 Replies

I have a tenant in my first floor unit who has been late every single payment for 11 months in a row with every excuse in the book. However, they always end up paying right before the legal timeline for eviction. Does anyone have experience with this?

Easy answer here is to just not renew them when their lease is up. If they are paying, including the late fees, there's probably not a lot you can do beyond that. 

@Colby Mulry I have no experience with this but I am sure others will ask similar questions about the situation. 

How late are we talking here 1 day or 7 days? 

Are you adding late fees each month? 

Are you serving them a late notice? 

Lastly how long is the lease? 

Might want to consider the option of not renewing it once its expired. Seems like a bad egg

In Rhode island, I issue a late statement after 5 days from the Rhode Island State handbook...if the tenant reaches 14 days I can evict. The tenant typically pays around day 10-12 with a late fee included. 

The lease is up in December (1 year)

@Colby Mulry seems like a huge inconvenience and it also seems like they know you can't do anything else about it. I guess continue on the same path and collect the late fee every month unit December. Good luck!   

Biggest problem is the waste of your time and having to listen to all the stupid excuses. Otherwise, you are making $ on the late fees at least. You can either put up with the aggravation and make a bit more $, or not renew. 

@Colby Mulry I'm with @JD Martin , just evict them after their lease expires and find someone who'll pay you on time. Also, you should consider increasing your late fee (make sure to keep it to an amount allowed by your state) so that tenants are more likely to pay on-time to avoid it.