My tenant is needing to break lease. Do they security deposit ba

17 Replies

my tenants moved in 2 months ago.  He got a job in Florida and is needing to break lease.  If I allow them to break the contract, do they get their deposit back? I've never done this before.   They are good tenants. 

paige, I would try and see if you could get a renter available as soon as he moves out. I like to only use security deposits for damages. He's taking an opportunity to better his life,, what would you want to happen if it was you?

Originally posted by @Paige Roberts :

my tenants moved in 2 months ago.  He got a job in Florida and is needing to break lease.  If I allow them to break the contract, do they get their deposit back? I've never done this before.   They are good tenants. 

Paige,

First look at your lease, then what your States landlord tenant law says. I usually give them their deposit back if we re-rent right away and they leave the house in move in condition. We have thirty days to send their claim on deposit from the day they vacate via certified mail to their last known address or forwarding address (if they provided)

Originally posted by @Paige Roberts :

Good to meet you Paige.

I always look at these situations as to what is fair for both parties.

I would certainly subtract the cost of releasing the unit, bringing it back to lease ready condition, lost rent, and any possible reduced monthly lease amount to the new tenant. 

It that is less than the deposit I would return the balance. If it were more than the deposit on hand I would ask God for advise and use his wisdom.

Happy House Hunting

As long as there was no damage and I could re-rent the place pretty quickly, I would give them the deposit back. A lot of people will say “it’s a business and it needs to be treated as such” but I think having a little compassion can go a long way, not just in RE, but life in general.