Renting out rooms - Owner Occupied - What’s Allowed?

4 Replies

Hi BP,

Admittedly, I’m new to this. I purchased my first property and moved in at the beginning of May. It’s a single family 4 bed home with the intent to rent out the additional rooms.

My girlfriend and I will be occupying the master, but we’re curious on what “house rules” you’re able to put in place and what’s illegal?

Ive searched landlordology and BP for state specific laws, but it seems like owner occupancy is a bit of a different beast.

Topics were curious about:

1) shoes in the house (for instance, could we say prefer to take your shoes off when walking in?)

2) keeping the common area relatively clean

3) etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Trey

Same equal opportunity housing laws apply - cant discriminate based on age, race, disability, religion, family size, etc.. so technically all those ads saying ‘Room for Rent - perfect for college student/ one person/(or other caterings) are ‘illegal’ and can be considered discriminatory..BUT those ads are very common and it’s unlikely anyone would pursue reporting ... nevertheless, you could be opening yourself up for potential legal consequences so I just keep my ads/posts very generic and objective stuff about the room/house, etc.