How to “re-market” a rental after you’ve turned down other renter

4 Replies

Good Morning! This is my first time posting in the forum. My husband and I are starting a real estate investment company in middle Georgia. We had a house, and we were hoping to get a section 8 renter into the home. We found (what we thought was a good tenant), and we did not get her deposit. We know that was a mistake, and now we can not get in touch with her. We have emailed and contacted her emergency contacts asked them to get back in touch with us and we’re given her another 24 hours. However,  if we do not hear from her we will need to re-list the house again hopefully for section 8, but we turned down a renter earlier based on a few criteria. However, we may have to relist this home and I want to know the best way to handle that situation please advise!!!

Make sure in the future that when you get someone's deposit that they know they only have 24 hours or so to sign the lease.

For now email/text so that you have something in writing if you haven't already done so letting them know they have XX time until you start advertising again to find another applicant.

I have a couple section 8 properties and really like the program. I'm not crazy about how long it takes to go through all the red tape to get a Section 8 tenant with an active voucher in the door.

Jaime, did you sign a lease with this person?  Is she considered current under the lease?  Once you enter into a lease with a tenant - whether she actually moves in or not - you're stuck with operating under the terms of the lease.  "A lease becomes a contract when it is signed by both the landlord and tenant. If a tenant signs a lease but never moves in it has no bearing on the contract."  If rent is due/unpaid, I recommend sending a Notice to Quit for non-payment of rent to the last known address (certified mail) and then the eviction process would be next.

Other:  1. The contract can be cancelled if mutually agreed upon.