Landlording from out of state

9 Replies

I am new to the rental portion of RE investing and am analyzing the following deal. This is a basic overview as the numbers aren’t important to my question.  6 New construction single family rentals. 2 bed 2 baths renting at approximately $950. 

I am considering managing them myself to keep my cash flow up. However my family and I are planning to move shortly after the build out of the lots. If I was staying it would be a mute question but with the move would it be advantageous to do my own management or is this an aweful idea being that I am new to property management?  Any advise on how to manage from a distance, from those thinking it may be a viable option would be appreciated.

Thank you

@Account Closed , first off, if the deal doesn't pencil out when accounting for professional property management, it isn't a deal. Don't cheat on this.

Long distance landlording sounds like a nightmare and I'd never even consider it. This is why property managers exist. If you do without a PM, you have to establish a solid team that you trust completely. It's not just collecting rent and the occasional drywall patch. Someone has to go over at 2am when there's a roof leak. Who's going to do that for you? A handy man? Maybe, but what about when he's out of town or working on another job or it's his anniversary?

Don't tempt fate.

I bought new construction last decade.. and for those I was able to self manage or should I say my secretary at the time took care of them

we would have a real estate broker place the tenant for a commish.. then we had a very good handy man on speed dial.

being new construction these were A class with A class tenants.. so managing them was not that tough.. 

and the houses being new at least for the first 10 years we had them were just normal turn over costs at move out.

I had one tenant stay the entire time I owned it.. that was nice..