Tips on getting my Rental home rented!

17 Replies

Hey guys, 

I am new to rental property investing! We are almost ready with our rental home unit and I am looking for tenants. For some reason, I am only getting tenants that don't really meet my minimum qualifications. I have had it listed for less than 10 days. We will be able to show the home starting this weekend officially. (Master bathroom update rehab) Could you guys review my rental and tell me if there is something I can do attract tenants? The price is pretty typical in Denver. 3 Bedroom apartments are going in this area for $2400+Pet Fees+Garage Fees. We are charging $2619+$30 per pet + $35 Utility Fee for Solar Panels, Rain barrels as the home has very low utility bills. 

Thanks in advance for any ideas or tips! 

Originally posted by @John Underwood :

Also list it on FB marketplace. This has been the best site by a long shot for me for the last year or so.\

I have listed it there as well. I am not too happy with the feedback there. Most people there don't seem to have credit and that's a definite NO for me. 

Have you looked at comps in the area?

Look at other ads and see what amenities they are offering compared to your own.  Also, take an objective look at the condition of your unit compared to others listed.

Also, are your fees congruent with local custom?  Perhaps people are shying away because of that.

If you are getting too many "non target" applicants, perhaps list your qualifications in the ad.

I like very simple qualifications and simple fees -- you've already got three listed there and who knows how many others.

The rent is the rent, charge it to cover what you need to. If someone asks about pets, you can get it into those fees at that point, just say you're pet friendly.