Can I discriminate “female only “

34 Replies

I have a Detached Garage apartment that is on my sisters property that we will be looking for renters soon. My niece and nephew age 12and 9 will be alone for short periods of time. I live next door but separated by an acre. The property is in the country so a little secluded. We feel there are safety concerns. Legally can we advertise “Female only “ renters? Of course this does not exclude male children.

Thank you

@Karri Dick I'm pretty sure since it is her primary residence and she is also living on the property than you can discriminate. I know this applies for multi units like a duplex where you are living in the same building but might want to check with an attorney to see if it applies still since it's a separate building. I would think you still could though. If it were just a straight rental property you can't but since she's living there might be able to. 

I can't give you legal advice since I am not a lawyer, but there are some special provisions in the fair housing act law that exempt certain owner occupants from having to follow the same provisions of a professional landlord or a real estate broker. I would double check just to make sure there aren't any funky city/state rules that apply and make sure that your sister falls into the category where she is exempt. But from your post it sounds like she may not have to worry about the discrimination piece. 

Generally, yes. Basic requirements for "legal" discrimination: housing unit on property occupied by the owner; owner has 4 or fewer units; property is not managed by a property manager. You can read the Fair Housing Act and get the specifics but I think you'd be fine here. You probably in fact need to be specific, including the lease, because you need to cover how guests, boyfriends, etc are dealt with as these situations are likely to come up.