Advise for renting properties in heavy college areas

4 Replies

Hello everyone (or anyone lol) first off if this is the wrong place to post this please feel free to let me know and guide me in the right direction.

I bought my first rental property 3 years ago in my area, which is located directly next to one college and within 15 min of a university. I plan on getting more homes in the area, and or surrounding areas over the new couple years and will more then likely be renting to college kids seeing as I shouldn’t ever be short on tenants.

I’m looking for any general advise someone can give me that may have or is doing the same as myself. I apologize if this is quite vague, I’m still new at this and finally got my spark back to get back into my plan of renting. I currently am house hacking the home I own now, and have been thinking of possibly getting into a multi family home and doing the same for my next house as well. Thank you in advanced!

Welcome to Bigger Pockets @Aaron Caminati !  

I recently got together with a guy in my market that is KILLING IT in college rentals and he shared something lifesaving that I want to pass along.  Most property managers in the area are trying in December to fill the vacancies for the next year.  What he knew from being at the university recently is that by November every single solid tenant had already had their house for the next year locked up .  . . for like a month!

So, he's had a constant stream of low vacancies and high quality tenants by knowing the rhythms of the students.  If you put your vacancy up for lease when the best people are looking then it's simply a marketing game.  If you put it up when they aren't, then it's a suicide mission or a miracle game.

So, if this is an investment path you want to be in, know the demographic you are looking to rent to and market to them . . . only.

Go out there and get it!