• Rental Property Investor
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
Networking w/ TX & FL Investors

Robert Matelski
  • Austin, TX
Posted Jan 4 2021, 08:02

Greetings and Happy New Year, fellow Bigger Pockets members! I am looking to network with anyone in the residential real estate investing food chain throughout Texas and Florida, and would be especially delighted to connect with folks who have personal experience investing in either (or both) of these states. I live in the San Francisco Bay Area, and currently own properties both here and in the greater Cleveland area, so while I am new to these markets I am not new to investing. 

My 2021 plan is to expand into one or more additional markets, focusing on SFRs or potentially small multi-family properties (2-4 units), as buy and hold investments for the long haul. I find TX and FL appealing based on long-term continued growth potential AND the lack of state income tax (I know, I know, as a Californian I am still subject to paying CA state income tax on income derived from tax-free states... but I honestly cannot imagine myself being here forever the way our taxes keep going).

Some of the cities I have been scoping out for strong cash flow potential include Jacksonville, Tallahassee, Abilene, and Wichita Falls, plus a bunch of 'small country town' type places in Texas (e.g., Brownwood). Certainly open to others as well... the year is young and I plan to spend the first sliver of it really getting to know these markets pretty well; I welcome any input anyone may have on these cities or suggestions of others to explore.

(Side note... if you happen to be interested in exploring Cleveland as a market to invest in, feel free to inbox me regarding that topic too, as that's my bread-and-butter market and I have a ton of insight to share.)

Thanks in advance for any tips/info/advice/connections!

User Stats

Votes
Kyle Jones
  • Abilene, TX
Votes |
  • Abilene, TX
Replied Jan 4 2021, 08:37