Mortgage on top of student loans straight out of college

10 Replies

Good evening, everyone.  My name is Dan Bottiglieri, I'm currently a sophomore in college majoring in finance and accounting, but of course my main goal is to invest in real estate full time eventually.  I plan on getting my start by househacking a condo/house in my market then refinancing after a year and make it a fulltime investment property.  

My question is, would you be comfortable graduating college with about 75k in debt and immediately taking on a 150k or more mortgage? In best case scenario that sounds great, my tenants will be paying down my house for me and I'll be building my asset column fresh out of college but I'm not sure how I feel being 200k+ in debt at such a young age, if something goes bad in the property I could be screwing myself.  

It honestly depends on your income and if someone will lend you the money.  You may need to work at your job for a while to qualify for a mortgage.  Lots of people have student loans and mortgages to pay at the same time.