What is a good Cash on Cash return for Vacation Rentals?

11 Replies

I am just getting into vacation rental investing and I am curious what other investors look for in regards to expected profits from a vacation rental.  Is it comparable to long term rentals?  

My first vacay purchase "should" do better than most of my long term rentals with lots of extra benefits. Not sure this is the norm though.

Aaron,

I don't mess with anything less than 20% returns on any real estate investments.

Jim Sakalis

I like @Jim Sakalis approach, but there are some nuances to vacation rentals that don't necessarily apply to long term rentals.  VR's are furnished properties so make sure to account for this cost.  Also, because your success (and failures) for rental activity and rates are largely dependent upon presentation of your property (photos), you'll likely end up with some rehab expenses or paying a bit more for a furnish ready property.  I expect to hit, if not exceed, Jim's 20%, but certainly not year 1 as you initially lower rental rates to gain some rental traction.

I am looking to bring a few properties online in the next 6 months and am projecting over 20% returns... after year 1. Just as @Michael Greenberg discussed, I am buying properties that have been updated nicely and I will be spending money on furniture. I'll be pricing lower early on in order to gain traction.

Originally posted by @Jake Knight :

I am buying properties that have been updated nicely and I will be spending money on furniture. I'll be pricing lower early on in order to gain traction.

Are you saying you bought some units in the area solely to do vacation rentals, or are you converting some of your existing units?

I am working with an agent to buy the right property/s- out of state. Been looking at a few markets to determine feasibility, but it will primarily be used for corporate/relocation renting as opposed to strictly vacation. I will leverage airbnb as needed though. @Andrew Wong