Airbnb Property Management, Louisville, KY

8 Replies

Hi, I wanted to ask a question of the community. 

I have been thinking about starting an Airbnb Property Management company in Louisville, KY. I'm a licensed real estate agent, and a long time 5 star Airbnb owner with Superhost status. I know that Airbnb requires a much higher involvement then a normal rental and can be tough for people with other business activities or full time jobs.  My thought is we would handle all logistics including booking, hospitality, cleaning and etc.  

So my question for the group is, do you see a need in this niche? 

Thanks for any feedback,

Dan Close

Yep, definitely. We are thinking about doing it here too. There are sooo many people we talk to about AirBnB that have no clue what we're talking about. Instead of being excited about our income they seem overwhelmed by it, so I think there is definitely a market for this. I think you could do really well by advertising right and convincing people to convert from traditional rentals to an AirBnB model. Good luck! Let us know how it goes if you do it.

Hey @Dan Close I do exactly what you're talking about here in Denver and it is definitely a niche.  Lots of work, yes, but I manage to run a small business while keeping my full time job.  Being a licensed broker helps because if the short term game goes sour with any of your clients due to neighbor complaints, regulation, etc, you can keep their business and manage their properties long term.  In Colorado, you do not need a broker license for STRs but do for traditional property management.  

There are also several large firms who do this whom you can learn from.  Check out Evolve, Vacasa, and Stay Alfred and see what they offer to give you a starting point. 

Best,

Tyler