Carribbean hot spots within the next few years

52 Replies

Hello, I am fairly new to bigger pockets and this is my first forum question. I was wondering if anyone has experience with traveling to the Caribbean or buying properties in the Caribbean. 

I am wanting to purchase a vacation home, and also rent it out when we are not there. I have been to the Cayman Islands plenty of times, and love it, but I want to find somewhere else - a hidden gem maybe... that has yet to explode as a tourist destination, but close enough to a major town that airlines can fly into as I need to make it somewhat affordable and accessible to people who would like to rent it out. Of course we all want the best of both worlds; that is a hidden gem on a secluded/private beach, but close enough to a town to find good eats, drinks, and shopping. Not to mention interaction with the locals is awesome. 

I am open to any and all suggestions! However, I would like to avoid Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic, and Mexico, but that doesn’t mean if presented with a fantastic opportunity, I wouldn’t look into it. 

Thank you everyone! 

Respectfully,

Andrew James

@Andrew James why would you cancel out the Dominican Republic? they are the #1 tourist destination in the Caribbean, nice beaches and condos are extremely cheap...

I personally would not buy a house in a hidden gem that no one knows about....that just sounds like low occupancy and low prices to attract people.

Hidden gem near a thriving destination will at least guarantee occupancy, but as the vacationers won't be so close to the action, it may not guarantee high rental incomes. 

This is one of my favourite pastimes. I have done a ton of research and travel, and mild obsessing, and these are the destinations I have narrowed in on.

By no means am I an expert, and everyone has different opinions and desires for what they want in a destination.