Buying a Condo for vacation rental in Panama City Beach Fl

18 Replies

Hello we are new to the sight.  We are looking to purchase a condo in Panama City Beach FL.  We will be using this condo as a vacation rental and we are wondering what the overall thoughts are on this area.  Also, do we need to have a license to rent out the condo if we hire a property management company?  Thoughts anyone?

Thanks in Advance

Chris

I am getting mixed answers as to whether or not I have to register as an agent in Florida even though I will be hiring a property management company to oversee the property for us.  We know the condo has to be registered with the city.  Any thoughts on this?

This post has been removed.

Hi there!  I'm a Realtor in Panama City/PC Beach, and I can tell you business is BOOMING here!  Due to the recent hurricane in PC and east of here (Mexico Beach, etc.), condos on PCB have been fully occupied, whether with vacationers or contractors in the area to do work.  If you'd like more info, please let me know how I can help!

I think depending on  a few posts from anonymous people on this site you just joined is a gigantic mistake.  Especially when they are person who might be looking for a commission.

there are 50 issues that can impact this decision. Are you doing it remotely? Do you have experience doing it? Are you depending on  property manager and cleaner who may or may not work out leaving you in the lurch? Will the property be in a homeowners association that may not allow it? Is specific zoning in that area subject to change? How do you plan to finance it? Do you have a CPA and a lawyer who can guide you in not make a gigantic mistake?

try to avoid starting out with a deer in the Headlights approach.

Originally posted by @Chris Paumen :