• Investor
  • North Myrtle Beach SC
Votes |
STVR- Renters Won’t Communicate

Jeffrey Hillen
  • Investor
  • North Myrtle Beach SC
Posted Jul 13 2020, 17:42

Hey all, I’m new to this and am self managing remotely. The first two renters were great and gave 5 star reviews on AirBnB. My last renter did not respond to any method of contact. My electronic lock was opened over 100 times in one day. My cleaners confirmed no damage so maybe this can happen... any advice on someone with similar experiences and what you do differently?

Also, I’ve had great success on AirBnB but not one message on VRBO. Anybody know of any suggestions to get more traction on this platform besides pricing?

User Stats

Votes
Chris Gottshall
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Portland, OR
Votes |
  • Portland, OR
Replied Jul 13 2020, 17:50

@Jeffrey Hillen I've had guests like you describe before, as well. Not often, thankfully. Rate them appropriately for Communication when you leave your review, and mention in the private notes that it is customary and appreciated by hosts when guests acknowledge receiving messages, even if it just an "OK" or "Thanks" response.

User Stats

Votes
John Underwood
Pro Member
#1 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Investor
  • Greer, SC
Votes |
Pro Member
#1 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Investor
  • Greer, SC
Replied Jul 13 2020, 18:10
Did you try calling them during their stay? I usually do this.
Sometimes people just wont respond and will not leave a review.

I get almost all my reservations via Vrbo and and very few on Airbnb.

Go onto Vrbo with out logging in and do a search and see where you fall in the search list.

See what the top listing have and see if there is anything you can duplicate to get your search results higher.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored