Looking to invest in some land to start a glamping Airbnb

9 Replies

Hey everyone! I am new to real estate investing and I just closed on my first home. My plan has been to live in it for a year, make some renovations and rent out rooms and then save to purchase my next property. Now I'm thinking, why wait? There a cheaper options to get into a deal and what I am interested in now is to purchase a small piece of land and renovate an RV and put it there as a "glamping" Airbnb. I'm asking for any advice from someone who has invested in a "glamping" Airbnb property or potentially anybody who may be interested in investing with me to get this started! My name is Michael and I appreciate you reading my post!

You may want to take a look at some of the properties and camp setups on Hipcamp.com.  You might also want to stay at one just to see how it all works.

We've stayed at a few and for toilets, they either used a port-o-john, and had a commercial service come and empty it before we arrived or a composting toilet.  We actually preferred the composting toilet because there were less chemical smells, etc.

Both camps we stayed at had us bring our own water.

Neither of the camp sites had electrical, but we could bring our own generator or battery system if we wanted.

Mike

@Bruce Woodruff - I've heard this before. Ideally the site would have these utilities ready. I'm looking in Gatlinburg, TN near the Smoky Mountains and I've found a couple properties that have utilities ready but I need to do more research. Some have utilities "available" but I'd imagine that would require me to have the utilities set up by the local providers. So long story short I don't have too much of a budget to set up utilities. Either I find a property with utilities set up or I go a more barebones approach and find a way to provide services without public utilities. What are your thoughts?