SFR in Alaska Fairbanks, North Pole, Anchorage

38 Replies

Hello everyone, I'm about to invest in a SFR in North Pole AK near FBX. I ran the numbers and it works out if I include the utilities but doesn't leave much meat on the bone. I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions as far as including the utilities or what's customary in this area? Thanks!

@Ralph R. Thank you Ralph. You're always out to helping people.

@Osmany Linares Hey, I'm Adrian and I'm currently stationed at Ft Wainwright. I'm not an expert but here's my 2 cents. I think it's best to begin with the end in mind. Are you looking for cash flow or are you banking on appreciation? If Cash flow is what you're looking for then what is the number you would like to see per month on a deal? If it's appreciation, then what's your exit strategy? 

About utilities. I usually go to Zillow or Craigslist and look around at what other rentals are doing. Especially the ones close to the subject property. Most of the time it's the rent + electricity therefore the owner pays for water and gas. You would have to do a research on that one to get a number that is as close to the actual costs. Hope this helps. If you're interested shoot me a PM and we can get together and share ideas. I'm sure we can learn from each other. 

Good luck and Don't stop!

@James Cash Here are the numbers that I'm working with. When I talk about meat on the bone I'm referring to cash flow. As you can see If I don't calculate the utilities it leave me with $232 per month. with utilities included comes out to $25 a month (kind of too much risk for little pay off in my opinion). Please let me know what you think. 

Thank you @Ralph R. I see that you're from Alaska as well, do you have any SFR ( if so how do you treat them as far as utilities and what you include in the rental agreement if anything)?