New Investor Raleigh, NC

11 Replies

Hey BP Community!

My name is Clayton and I am currently a financial analyst living in Raleigh, NC. After reading many books, blogs, and listening to almost all of the BP podcasts, I have realized REI is the way I want to build wealth through passive income. What I have learned so far is that there is still SO much out there to learn, but I have developed a vision of what I want to achieve over the next five years. (Long story short: purchase 5 multi-family properties over the next 5 years while working full time)

Currently I am renting an apartment through the end of January. My goal is to purchase my first multi-family property when my lease runs out and "hack my housing" (@Brandon Turner  ) by renting out one of my rooms to my current roommate and renting out the other units. 

I am looking for an investor friendly real estate agent in my area to sit down and discuss my business plan and financing options (FHA loans in particular). Any advice on how to find the right agent or any referrals?

Any and all advice welcome! I am here to learn!

Thanks everyone for your time!

I had the same plan but there are not many duplexes in Raleigh I would have wanted to live in. Have you identified a target area or areas of duplexes?

Promotion
Apartments.com
List, Screen, Lease, Get Paid, Manage.
No Better Place to Lease Your Place
Owners rely on the #1 rental site to get the best results from their rental properties.
Get Started Now

joco (Johnston county) has some duplex's and areas I would live in. To be honest the rents are close and the cost to acquire is lower. With the 70 bypass you are still with in 20 mins of raliegh.