Newbie from Boston MA north shore

10 Replies

My name is Michael Sjogren and I am new to real estate investing. My first and only real estate deal was closing on my home 3 years ago. I am finishing my MBA and work in accounting for an international energy company. I am also an architecture and real estate photographer. I spend my morning and evening commute listening to podcasts and came across Bigger Pockets podcasts after Fortune Builder’s free seminar sparked my interest in real estate investing. My goal is to learn as much as I can about the various options in real estate investing so that I can start generating passive income.

I gratefully welcome any advice and would love to network with other local real estate investors.

Happy investing,

Mike

Welcome to Biggerpockets!

You found the place to be! You will find no better place to build a solid platform than bigger pockets. The one thing we all agree up on is that we invest in real estate. Beyond that everyone has a different niche! We got started right out of my MBA program with a personal property that we turned into a rental when we were transferred. 

We are buy and hold investors who invest in class A properties self-managing from a distance while working full time. Our goal is to build a portfolio or as I say an "empire" of passive income to provide the cash flow needed for early retire in 15 years, wo we do work on furthering our careers. We live very frugally allowing us to live off of one income and save the other. We have further our career and used the W2 income to leverage our real estate portfolio.