Green investor looking in the Tahoe, Reno, and Sac areas

19 Replies

Hello BP community. I'm new and just wanted to introduce myself. I'm a resident of South Lake Tahoe, CA where I bought my first home and am currently rehabbing it. I love the work and I'm looking to buy a second property, all cash, to flip in either the Tahoe, Reno, or Sacramento. Any advice or recommendations will be greatly appreciated. 

BTW. Love this site. The podcasts are awesome and the available information on here is priceless. Thank you BP!

Great recommendation Vincent. I don't have any problem working in that area so I'll start looking over there. I prefer Reno and the surrounding areas over Sac as the drive would be much easier. Thanks!

Welcome to BP Adam, glad to have you here. I was just looking at some properties in Tahoe today (hotel though, not residential). Looking forward to introducing my wife to the area when we´re in California later this year, as well as seeing how your own investments develop. Make sure to spend some time in the Learn section here on BP, there´s an absolute wealth of information.

We own a house in South Lake, and are renting it out as a vacation rental (first year). The winter was great but snow removal and hot tub was a challenge to manage and cause some small issues managing from abroad. We will likely turn a small profit this year, around 8-10% but we also used it for over 4 weeks, so that's nice. The key is to find reliable local and dependable help, then get smart on managing it yourself. The PM co's will eat your money quick in my modeling so we opted out. Another bit you may consider is trying to get it furnished. This will save you a ton of time and money, but character is key to stand out. We started booking before we closed since it was truest turn key being furnished and all, and just provided our own small touch. We even used the pics from the mls ad and bought the property site unseen. We love it though and are considering another purchase.