Which cities in the US have the best rental properties?

50 Replies

Hello, 

My name is Dan and I'm new to Bigger Pockets and to real estate investing. There aren't many great deals in my area so I'm thinking about investing out-of-state and using a property manager. Where in the US can I get the highest possible cap rates for single family homes (preferably 3/2/2) without having to buy in bad neighborhoods that would have a lot of evictions/vacancies and other headaches? CBS is a must-have (no wood frames). Also, I would rather have a high cap rate than high appreciation on the properties. To me, appreciation is too speculative to give up cap rate for. I am willing to buy single family homes pretty much anywhere in the US as long as the cap rates are high, the construction is CBS, the neighborhood is decent (low crime/safe) with reliable tenants willing to live there, and the properties can be managed by a good, local property manager. Any suggestions as to which cities/zip codes can give me all this with the highest possible cap rates? 

Thanks! 

Dan

You should consider Kansas City. Great property prices and good ROI. Is definitely a good growth city with a lot of potential for holding property. Feel free to give me a shout! Always like to help if I can.

I forgot to include that I don't want to buy houses anywhere that has state/city income tax and I also don't want to buy in an area that is totally reliant on one company or one industry, such as a town where almost everyone works at a single manufacturing plant or a town that relies on a single industry such as oil.  Places like that have an extra element of risk, I believe.

I'm looking for CBS because  one thing I don't want to ever have to worry about is the basic structure of the house.  

Thanks!

Originally posted by @Jason Hawk :