Hello from San Diego!

21 Replies

Hi all,

My name is Krystle, I'm a real estate newbie with absolutely no real estate assets: no house, no condo, no anything. In a matter of fact, my husband and I are renters. However, my husband and I are active duty military and we're transitioning out to civilian life and are diving into the exciting world of REI. So far we're saving up and educating ourselves as much as we can to be able to purchase our first investment property (which will also be our first home).

Pleased to meet everyone, I've already begun scavenging the forum for good ideas on getting started. If you've got tips for a couple of newcomers, we'd love to hear whatever you've got. 

Krystle

@Krystle Padilla  

Welcome to Bigger Pockets!  Your post was delightful and honest, so thanks for posting.  Thank you for your military service and welcome back to civilian life.  It is wonderful that you are looking to make your first real estate investment (your home).  Ownership is great and everyone wishes you success with your first purchase.

Use an agent for your purchase. Working with a good agent will help you tremendously through the process. When looking for an agent, choose one that you both like and who is familiar with the area you choose for your new home. All agents have access to the MLS and can sell any listed home. However in working with a local agent, they can give you information beyond the listing information. You may want to know about community activities, shopping areas, schools and other things known to the locals.